The Division Expungements and Information Processing offers these services:
- Provides dockets to other agencies, including the County Attorney’s Office, the Sheriff’s Department, Operation Backfire and court interpreters.
- Processes all expungements related to District Court criminal/traffic cases.
- Provides courtroom “recommenders.” A recommender reviews and inputs the recommendations of the county attorneys from the case file into the case management system.
Qualifications for Expungement
A case that has been dismissed or acquitted may be considered for expungement no sooner than 60 days following the dismissal or acquittal of the case. A petition for this type of expungement requires that a motion be filed on the AOC-497.2, the Petition for Acquittal or Dismissal with Prejudice Petition/Motion for Expungement. There is no filing fee for this type of petition.
A case that was a misdemeanor or violation conviction may be considered for expungement no sooner than five years following the dismissal or acquittal of the case. The petition for this type of expungement requires that a motion be filed on AOC-496.2, Petition/Motion for Expungement (of Misdemeanor or Violation Conviction). The expungement fee is $100 per case and must be paid when at the time of filing the Petition/Motion for Expungement.
NOTE: Effective January 1, 2014, pursuant KRS 431.079 state law requires all petitions and motions for expungement to include a certificate of eligibility.
Certification requests may be made through the Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC) by registering online, via U.S. mail or in-person at the Records Unit located at 1001 Vandalay Drive, Frankfort, KY 40601. There is a $40 fee for certification and the process may take up to 60 days. Please note that certification is not an expungement. Payment for certification requests must be in the form of a check or money order. Please make all checks payable to the Kentucky State Treasurer. If registering online, accepted forms of payment include American Express, Discover, MasterCard and Visa credit/debit cards. Once individuals obtain an expungement certification, a petition for expungement may be filed with the Office of the Circuit Court Clerk in the county where the original charge was filed. The petition must be filed within 30 days of the certification.
For more information about the certification process, please visit the Kentucky Court of Justice website at http://courts.ky.gov/expungement.
Acceptable Forms of Payment for Expungements
Payments must be made at the Criminal Traffic Division located on the first floor of the Hall of Justice, 600 West Jefferson Street, Louisville, KY 40202. Cash, certified checks, cashier’s checks, attorney’s checks and money orders are accepted. American Express, Discover and MasterCard credit cards and most debit cards are also accepted. Visa credit and debit cards are not accepted at the counter of any Kentucky Office of the Circuit Court Clerk due to Visa’s convenience fee policy.