Make Online Request

Click to start expungement certification process


Resources

Frequently Asked Questions

News Release:Judicial Branch implements new expungement certification process, Feb. 5, 2014

 Expungement Certification Process 

Beginning Jan. 1, 2014, state law will require every petition for expungement in Kentucky to include a certificate of eligibility for expungement. Individuals who wish to have their criminal records (charges/cases) expunged must complete the expungement certification process to determine if they are eligible for expungement.

The Kentucky State Police will oversee this process in conjunction with the Administrative Office of the Courts. Both agencies must run criminal record reports on the person petitioning for the expungement. The KSP will certify the eligibility of the expungement request.

Expungement certification costs $40 and the process takes up to 60 days. It is important to note that a certification is not an expungement. Only a judge can expunge a charge/case. Individuals who obtain an expungement certification may then file a petition for expungement with the Office of Circuit Court Clerk in the county where the original charge was filed.

The expungement certification is valid for 30 days and the petition for expungement must be filed before the certification expires.

Steps to Obtain an Expungement Certification

Online Requests

1. Register at the registration site. An email account is required and will be verified during registration.

2. Complete the online request form.

3. Submit $40 payment. (Accepted forms of payment: American Express, Discover, MasterCard and Visa credit cards and most debit cards.)

4. Check your email for notification when the certification packet is available online.

5. Log in to the registration site to download the certification packet.

6. File the certification documents and the proper expungement petition with the Office of Circuit Court Clerk in the county where the original charge was filed.

In-Person Requests

You may request an expungement certification in-person at the drive-thru window at:

Administrative Office of the Courts
1001 Vandalay Drive
Frankfort, KY 40601
Drive-thru hours are 8 a.m. - 4 p.m. Monday - Friday (except state holidays).

1. Request a paper copy of the Expungement Certification Request Form if you have not already completed the form online.

2. Complete the form.

3. Submit $40 payment. (Accepted forms of payment: American Express, Discover, MasterCard and Visa credit cards and most debit cards; check or money order made payable to Kentucky State Treasurer; cash payment in exact amount.)

4. You will receive your certification packet by U.S. mail at the address you provided.

5. File the certification documents and the proper expungement petition with the Office of Circuit Court Clerk in the county where the original charge was filed.

Mail-Service Requests

1. Download the Expungement Certification Request Form.

2. Complete the form.

3. Provide the $40 payment by check or money order made payable to Kentucky State Treasurer.

4. Mail the completed form and payment to:

Records Unit
Administrative Office of the Courts
1001 Vandalay Drive
Frankfort, KY 40601

5. You will receive your certification packet by U.S. mail at the address you provided.

6. File the certification documents and the proper expungement petition with the Office of Circuit Court Clerk in the county where the original charge was filed.