Step One: Operator Permit
You must be at least 16 years old to take the written knowledge and vision test for an operator permit. Driving manuals may be obtained from the Kentucky State Police (http://www.kentuckystatepolice.org). You must provide a certified or original birth certificate, Social Security card and proof of address. If you are under the age of 18, a parent or guardian must sign the application and take financial responsibility. A legal guardian must provide a certified copy of guardianship papers. Pursuant to the No Pass/No Drive Law (KRS 159.051), you must also provide a School Compliance Verification Form issued by your school.
Permit drivers under the age of 18 may not drive between the hours of midnight and 6 a.m. unless the driver can demonstrate a good cause for driving. The driver must be accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older in the front seat of the vehicle.
Step Two: Intermediate License
After holding a permit for 180 days, the driver may apply for an intermediate license and take the driving skills test. To schedule a driving test, contact the Kentucky State Police at 502-454-3327. A parent or guardian must certify that the driver has completed 60 hours of practice with 10 hours occurring at night. A practice driving log and verification form are required. Passenger restrictions are limited to one unrelated person under 20 years of age.
Step Three: Unrestricted License
Intermediate license holders who have completed the four-hour graduate license program and have held an intermediate license for 180 days may apply for a full unrestricted license. Intermediate drivers under the age of 18 may not drive between the hours of midnight and 6 a.m. unless the driver can demonstrate a good cause for driving. All drivers under the age of 21 are subject to zero alcohol tolerance, which is defined as .02 alcohol concentration. All drivers under the age of 18 cannot obtain any serious moving violations.
For more information, contact the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet.