Newsroom 

Drug Court programs statewide requesting supplies for U.S. troops in Afghanistan during National Drug Court Month

Monday, 05 13, 2013

Jamie Neal
Public Information Specialist
502-573-2350, x 50033
jamieneal@kycourts.net
http://courts.ky.gov

Drug Court Works! To Support Our Troops FRANKFORT, Ky. -- In celebration of National Drug Court Month, Kentucky Drug Court programs statewide are collecting supplies for active-duty soldiers in Afghanistan throughout May. Drug Court programs are asking the public to give items the troops need and requesting that agencies and businesses serve as donation sites.

“Drug Court provides participants an opportunity to experience freedom from addiction,” Kentucky Drug Court manager Elizabeth Nichols said. “During National Drug Court Month in May, Drug Court programs and their participants want to serve the men and women who help protect freedom for all Americans. We need the community’s support to be successful. Please donate items to help soldiers wherever you see a ‘Drug Court Works to Support Our Troops’ box with the American flag and yellow ribbon and, if you head a business or an agency, offer to serve as a collection site.”
 
Drug Court programs serve 115 of Kentucky’s 120 counties. Each of seven Drug Court regions is requesting specific items for the troops. The items needed are listed below. To obtain a list of donation sites or volunteer to serve as a donation site, contact the local Drug Court program at the email address or phone number provided below.  

The donations will be combined and presented to the military in June to be delivered overseas. 

The National Association of Drug Court Professionals hosts National Drug Court Month each May to highlight the impact of drug court programs across the nation.

Logo
The “Drug Court Works! To Support Our Troops” logo was designed by Jimmy Newland, who graduated from the Crittenden County Drug Court program in March. Newland’s logo was selected in a design contest that was hosted by Kentucky Drug Court and received 39 entries from Drug Court participants and one graduate (Newland).

Lewis County Drug Court participant Michael Smith placed second and Powell County Drug Court participant Brenda Jones placed third in the contest.

The competition was judged by a Drug Court Month Committee composed of staff members from each Drug Court region.

Local Information
Region 1
Counties: Ballard, Caldwell, Calloway, Carlisle, Christian, Crittenden, Fulton, Graves, Hickman, Hopkins, Logan, Livingston, Lyon, Marshall, McCracken, McLean, Muhlenberg, Todd, Trigg, Union and Webster counties

Items needed:
Antacids   
Aspirin/pain relievers
Anti-bacterial gel
Baby wipes
Body powder                  
Air fresheners
AA batteries                                                                                      
Board games                  
Books                                                 
Beef jerky                                     
             
Contact:
Ballard/Carlisle/Fulton/Hickman counties: Violeta Barnes, violetabarnes@kycourts.net or 270-628-0390
Caldwell/Livingston/Lyon/Trigg: Douglas Martin, douglasmartin@kycourts.net or 270-365-5726
Calloway/Marshall counties: Shelly Groves, marygroves@kycourts.net or 270-753-2414
Christian County: Mike Walker, raymondwalker@kycourts.net or 270-889-6016
Crittenden/Union/Webster counties: Amber Miller, ambermiller@kycourts.net or 270-389-2271
Graves County: Kimberly Brand, kimberlybrand@kycourts.net or 270-247-8711
Hopkins County: Karen Bridges, karenbridges@kycourts.net or 270-824-7326
Logan/Todd counties: Jennifer Watson, jenniferwatson@kycourts.net or 270-889-6016
McCracken County: David Wallace, davidwallace@kycourts.net or 270-575-7158
McLean/Muhlenberg: Marianne Darity, mariannedarity@kycourts.net, 270-338-9947
                                                                           
Region 2
Counties: Allen, Barren, Breckinridge, Butler, Daviess, Edmonson, Grayson, Hancock, Hardin, Henderson, Meade, Metcalfe, Ohio, Simpson and Warren counties

Items needed:
Dental floss                             
Deodorant
Disposable razors    
Lip balm
Crossword/word find puzzles
Chips                                                      
Crackers                                  
Gum
Tuna in a pouch

Contact:
Allen/Simpson counties: Chas Taylor, chastitytaylor@kycourts.net or 270-237-3617
Barren/Metcalfe counties: Candy Reed, candybrowning@kycourts.net or 270-651-1494
Breckinridge/Grayson/Meade counties: Becky Heibert, beckyheibert@kycourts.net or 270-422-3030
Butler/Edmonson/Hancock/Ohio counties: Rhonda Vaughn, rhondavaughn@kycourts.net or 270-526-8886
Daviess County: Ray Austin, leonardaustin@kycourts.net or 270-687-7014
Hardin County: Diane Hopkins, dianehopkins@kycourts.net or 270-766-5265
Henderson County: Jamie Berry, jamieberry@kycourts.net or 270-827-5595
Warren County: Kathy Glenn, kathyglenn@kycourts.net or 270-746-7043

Region 3
Counties: Adair, Casey, Clinton, Cumberland, Garrard, Green, Hart, Jessamine, Knox, LaRue, Laurel, Lincoln, Marion, McCreary, Monroe, Nelson, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Russell, Taylor, Washington, Wayne and Whitley counties

Items needed:
Baby wipes
Cotton swabs
Eye drops                                              
Foot powder                                                                
Envelopes                                                        
Pens   
Gallon-size resealable plastic bags     
Small to-go packets of powdered creamer 
Granola bars                             
Hard candy

Contact:
Adair County: Megan Long, meganlong@kycourts.net or 270-384-1083
Casey County: Kevin Slone, kevinslone@kycourts.net or 606-787-0695
Clinton/Cumberland counties: Barry Cross, barrycross@kycourts.net or 606-387-0945
Garrard/Jessamine counties: Patricia Rhorer, patriciarhorer@kycourts.net or 859-885-3145
Green/Marion/Taylor/Washington counties: Jennifer Caulk, jennifercaulk@kycourts.net or 270-465-0681
Hart/LaRue/Nelson counties: Kayce Osborne, kayceosborne@kycourts.net or 502-349-0745
Knox County: Patricia Sears, patriciasears@kycourts.net or 606-545-5423
Laurel County: Cindi Reams Wagers, cindireams@kycourts.net or 606-330-2150
Lincoln/Pulaski/Rockcastle counties: Ryan Tucker, ryantucker@kycourts.net or 606-677-4321
McCreary County: Clarence Matthews, clarencematthews@kycourts.net or 606-376-1511
Monroe County: Arlyn Mink, arlynmink@kycourts.net or 270-487-0806
Russell/Wayne counties: Diana Catron, dianacatron@kycourts.net or 270-343-3954
Whitley County: Tracy Richardson, tracyrichardson@kycourts.net or 606-549-9956
                                                       
Region 4
Counties: Bell, Breathitt, Clay, Estill, Floyd, Harlan, Jackson, Johnson, Knott, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Magoffin, Martin, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Powell and Wolfe counties

Items needed:
Insoles
Lip balm
Mouth spray/breath strips
Nasal spray
Petroleum jelly (like Vaseline)
Small packages of tissues
News magazines
Lollipops
Mints
Instant soup

Contact:
Bell County: Linda Greene, lindagreene@kycourts.net or 606-337-2284
Breathitt/Powell/Wolfe counties: Drema Terry, drematerry@kycourts.net or 606-666-8383
Clay/Jackson/Leslie counties: Dana Caldwell, danacaldwell@kycourts.net or 606-672-2437
Estill/Lee/Owsley counties: Wilma Spicer, wilmaspicer@kycourts.net or 606-464-2102
Floyd County: Sue Blackburn, sueblackburn@kycourts.net or 606-886-2838
Harlan County: Joe Baker, joebaker@kycourts.net or 606-573-1558
Johnson/Lawrence/Martin counties: Susan Stumbo, susanstumbo@kycourts.net or 606-789-9811
Knott County: Glenda Shrum, glendashrum@kycourts.net or 606-785-5605
Letcher County: Brenda Hall, brendahall@kycourts.net or 606-633-8925
Magoffin County: Daphne Helton, daphnehelton@kycourts.net or 606-349-6624
Perry County: Billie Adams, billieadams@kycourts.net or 606-435-6145
Pike County: Rebecca Swiney, rebeccaswiney@kycourts.net or 606-433-7043

Region 5
Counties: Bath, Boyd, Carter, Clark, Elliott, Fayette, Greenup, Lewis, Madison, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan and Rowan counties

Items needed:
Blank post cards
Paper
Paperback books
Pillows
Popcorn
Pretzels
Protein bars
Protein powder/shakes
Ravioli (pop-top cans)

Contact:
Bath/Menifee/Montgomery/Rowan counties: Carmen Rogers, carmenrogers@kycourts.net or 859-498-0240
Boyd County: Bill Church, williamchurch@kycourts.net or 606-739-0259
Carter/Elliott/Morgan counties: Jessica Newman, jessicanewman@kycourts.net or 606-743-2112
Clark/Madison counties: Audrey Collins, audreycollins@kycourts.net or 859-623-6320
Fayette County: Danielle Sanders, daniellesanders@kycourts.net or 859-246-2501
Greenup/Lewis counties: Andy Harris, andyh@kycourts.net or 606-473-0769

Region 6
Counties: Bourbon, Franklin, Boone, Bracken, Campbell, Fleming, Gallatin, Harrison, Kenton, Mason, Nicholas, Pendleton, Robertson, Scott and Woodford counties

Items needed:
Shampoo
Sunscreen
Travel-size tissues
Small fruit packs
Snacks that can withstand heat
Summer sausage
Sunflower seeds
Sweetened drink mixes
Toaster pastries

Contact:
Boone/Gallatin counties: Chris Blake, chrisblake@kycourts.net or 859-586-0802
Bourbon/Scott/Woodford counties: Arin Cox, arincox@kycourts.net or 859-873-5439
Bracken/Fleming/Mason counties: Jane Bailey, janebailey@kycourts.net or 606-666-8383
Campbell/ Kenton counties: Paul Dierig, pauldierig@kycourts.net or 859-292-6643
Franklin County: Curtis Montague, curtismontague@kycourts.net or 502-564-0332
Harrison/Nicholas/Pendleton/Robertson counties: Andrea Hinton, andreahinton@kycourts.net or 859-234-3520

Region 7
Counties: Anderson, Bullitt, Henry, Jefferson, Oldham, Shelby, Spencer and Trimble counties

Items needed:
Aloe Vera gel
Hand warmers
Soft toilet paper
Toothbrushes
Toothpaste
Travel games
Velcro of all sizes (green and/or black only)
Instant coffee, caffeinated
Tea bags
Trail mix

Contact:
Anderson/Shelby/Spencer counties: JoAnn Rowan, joannrowan@kycourts.net or 502-647-3774
Bullitt County: Erin Bohannon, erinbohannon@kycourts.net or 502-543-2946
Henry/Oldham/Trimble counties: DeAnna Fields, deannafields@kycourts.net or 502-222-1715
Jefferson County: Latevia Priddy/Charlie Doram, lateviapriddy@kycourts.net or charliedoram@kycourts.net or 502-595-3376
     
About Kentucky Drug Court
Kentucky Drug Court is administered through the Administrative Office of the Courts in Frankfort, which oversees 55 adult programs that serve 115 counties. Drug Court’s mission is to provide court-supervised treatment as an alternative to incarceration. The program’s success can be measured in the number of lives changed and the cost savings to Kentucky taxpayers. For every $1 spent on Drug Court graduates, the state saves $2.72 on what it would have spent on incarcerating these individuals.

The program has helped reduce illicit drug use and related criminal activity and lowered rearrest, reconviction and reincarceration rates. It has increased payments of delinquent child support and improved employment rates. As of June 30, 2012, 5,370 individuals had graduated from Drug Court programs statewide and participants had paid $3.5 million in child support and $3.9 million in court obligations, including restitution and fines.

Drug Court coordinates the efforts of the judiciary, prosecution, defense bar, probation, law enforcement, mental health, social services and treatment communities to actively intervene and break the cycle of substance abuse, addiction and crime. The program consists of three phases that last at least one year and are followed by aftercare. Drug Court staff and participants work together to develop individual program plans with specific responsibilities and goals with timetables. Plans include group, family and individual counseling; frequent and random urine testing; education and vocational training; scheduled payments of restitution, child support and court fees; and health and community activities. Participants report directly to their Drug Court judge, who rewards progress and sanctions noncompliance.

When participants successfully complete the program, charges may be dismissed through diversion, or conditional discharge may be granted through probation. Judges who participate in Drug Court volunteer their time to the program.

Administrative Office of the Courts
The AOC is the operations arm for the state court system and supports the activities of nearly 3,300 court system employees and 403 elected justices, judges and circuit court clerks. As the fiscal agent for the state court system, the AOC executes the Judicial Branch budget.

Your Selections


Select A Topic

To view press releases related to specific topics, select the desired topic or topics and click "View Press Releases" button.

Business, growth, jobs, economic development, conducting business in Kentucky, licensing, permitting...
Consumer action, publications, credit, complaints, scams...
Public and private education, schools, secondary education, secondary education, student and teacher resources, online learning...
Farms, food production, livestock, natural resources, conservation, weather, agriculture, energy resources, environmental education, forestry, utilities...
Family, children, housing, human services, community development, traditions, culture, homeless, minority empowerment...
Medical, health care, insurance, nutrition, public health, public safety, services...
Museums, libraries, genealogy, ethnic, traditions...
Employment, training, careers, workforce, labor, wages and salaries, workplace...
Pending legislation, policies, procedures, laws, regulations, statutes and rules...
Budget/Fiscal, Unclaimed government money, credit, saving, retirement...
Homeland Security, crime, prison, law enforcement, disasters, emergency management, emergency preparedness, ethics reform, adult institutions, justice, military, national guard...
State fair, gaming, hunting, fishing, outdoors, state parks, entertainment, sports, horse racing, events...
Biology, engineering, space, innovation, infrastructure, communications...
Transportation, highway maintenance, highway construction, infrastructure, air, train, road, international...
Voter registration, elected officials...